2 books in series
4.5 out of 5 stars 40 ratings

Gudrun: Series 1-4 Publisher's Summary

An 11th-century Viking epic of love, revenge and faith, set in Iceland and starring the original Nordic Noir heroine, Gudrun.

As a young woman growing up in 11th-century Iceland, Gudrun must forge her path through a world of unearthly beauty yet uncompromising harshness. The tale begins in her youth, with her childhood friends Kjartan and Bolli - but the love the two boys have for Gudrun causes a deathly enmity between them that leaves her reeling.

Suspicious of how power and ambition are wielded by men, Gudrun is left feeling increasingly isolated. She longs for the freedom to live her life according to her own rules, beholden to no-one. This epic saga takes her on a journey away from her beloved homeland, risking everything to save her daughter. 

An avenging angel forged from violence, Gudrun has all the complexity, vulnerability and single-mindedness of her successors, Lisbeth Salander and Saga Noren. In the ruthless world she inhabits, her steely determination and willingness to manipulate others in the manner of Borgen's Birgitte Nyborg is what keeps her alive.

Gudrun is based on the famous Icelanders' saga known as The Laxdoela Saga. Written in the 13th century, it tells of people in the Breiðafjörður area of Iceland from the late 9th century to the early 11th century.

Starring Kate Phillips (Peaky Blinders, War and Peace) as Gudrun.
Directed by Sasha Yevtushenko (series 1) and Gemma Jenkins (series 2-4).

Please note: audio replaced 15 Nov 2019.

©2018 Lucy Catherine (P)2018 BBC Audiobooks Ltd.
Show more Show less
You're getting a free audiobook.

You're getting a free audiobook.

$14.95 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.