Isabel's Story

2 books in series
4 out of 5 stars 2 ratings

The Promise Publisher's Summary

From award-winning author, Michelle Vernal comes an utterly heartbreaking historical novel inspired by her birth family's connection with the Isle of Wight. Fans of Susan Sallis, Ella Carey and Fiona Valpy will absolutely love this captivating, unique story. 

1944 - The Isle of Wight: 16 year-old Constance’s life on the island is sheltered until the death of her brother brings the reality of war crashing down around her. He leaves behind his pregnant widow, Ginny. When Constance meets a handsome Canadian air force man, she’s eager to escape her grief and be swept up by first love. It’s a love which has ramifications she could never envisage. 

Present day: when young British backpacker, Isabel Stark, happens across a car accident on a lonely stretch of road in the South Island of New Zealand, her life changes forever. The sole passenger, Ginny Havelock asks her to make a promise before she passes away - to find Constance and to say she’s sorry.

©2021 Michelle Vernal (P)2021 W F Howes
Show more Show less
Only $7.95 a month for the first 4 months of Audible Premium Plus