Julia Bird Mysteries

1 books in series
4.5 out of 5 stars 40 ratings

An English Garden Murder Publisher's Summary

Julia Bird’s picturesque Cotswolds cottage has everything she could want. Rustic charm, cozy fireplaces, and, it turns out, a dead body in the garden....

Recently divorced and reluctantly retired, Julia Bird has fled London to enjoy idyllic rural life in the Cotswolds. Determined to have the perfect English garden, her first job is to tear down the old shed, where she unearths much more than she’d bargained for: a body, apparently buried for decades. But who could it be, and who killed them? The police draw a blank, and even the gossip-fest that is the local book club can’t remember anyone going missing in the village.

Unable to get on with her garden until the mystery is resolved, Julia decides to conduct her own clandestine investigations. So, together with her wayward chocolate Labrador puppy, Jake, Julia begins a whirlwind tour of the local residents. And everyone, it seems, has something to hide in this village. As she gets closer to the truth, Julia uncovers something even more shocking: another body, this time of someone she actually knows.

Determined to unmask the killer and find out what connects the two dead bodies, Julia–newly nicknamed the Grim Reaper–ups the stakes and hones in on the most likely suspect. But if she hasn’t deduced correctly, then there is someone else in the village who has killed twice already. Will they be prepared to make it third time lucky to keep their secret safe?

This cozy mystery is perfect for fans of M.C. Beaton, Faith Martin, and Betty Rowlands.

©2022 Katie Gayle (P)2022 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.
Show more Show less
You're getting a free audiobook.

You're getting a free audiobook.

$14.95 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.