Odd Thomas

9 books in series
4.5 out of 5 stars 44,271 ratings


Meet Odd Thomas, a 20-something short-order cook in a small desert town who sees dead people and does his best to serve the silent souls who seek him out.

Maybe he has a gift; maybe it’s a curse. A gentle and genuinely caring young man, Odd Thomas can’t help but get caught up in the problems of other people - including dead people. They don’t talk, but they do try to communicate with him. Sometimes, they want justice. So, in between slinging hash at the Pico Mundo Grill and mooning over the beautiful (and very much alive) Stormy Llewellyn, Odd passes along otherworldly crime-solving tips to the town’s sympathetic police chief. And occasionally, he gets to prevent a catastrophe from happening. From acclaimed master of suspense Dean Koontz, this series stands out for its “curious mixture of whimsy, gentle humor, and horror” (The New York Times).

It takes a special narrator to embody Odd Thomas, and David Aaron Baker renders the unassuming young fry cook’s simplicity with an innocent, unaffected style. Narrators like Baker can make a successful series. Here’s a listener comment: “I listened to Odd Thomas and absolutely loved it. I then bought the paperback version of the next two in the series and was a bit disappointed - they just weren’t as charming. I then decided to go back to the audiobook version and the enjoyment was back!”

Hailed by Rolling Stone as “America’s most popular suspense novelist”, Dean Koontz is an abundant writer of fiction and screenplays, with many #1 New York Times best sellers to his credit. The series debut novel, Odd Thomas, was made into a movie of the same name, with Anton Yelchin in the lead role and Willem Dafoe as the town sheriff.

Show more Show less
You're getting a free audiobook.

You're getting a free audiobook.

$14.95 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Discover your next favorite series