Sarah, Plain and Tall

6 books in series
4.5 out of 5 stars 743 ratings

Sarah, Plain and Tall Audio Collection Publisher's Summary

"Did Mama sing every day?" Caleb asks his sister Anna.

"Every-single-day", she answers. "Papa sang, too."

The Newbery Medal-winning Sarah, Plain and Tall is the first of five books in Patricia MacLachlan's chapter book series about the Witting family. Set in the late 19th century and told from young Anna's point of view, Sarah, Plain and Tall tells the story of how Sarah Elisabeth Wheaton comes from Maine to the prairie to answer Papa's advertisement for a wife and mother. Before Sarah arrives, Anna and her younger brother Caleb wait and wonder. Will Sarah be nice? Will she sing? Will she stay?

This children's literature classic is perfect for fans of Laura Ingalls Wilder's Little House on the Prairie books, historical fiction, and timeless stories using rich and beautiful language. Sarah, Plain and Tall gently explores themes of abandonment, loss and love.

This collection includes the first three books in the series: Sarah, Plain and Tall; Skylark; and Caleb's Story.

Supports the Common Core State Standards

©1985, 1994, 2001 Patricia MacLachlan (P)2003 HarperCollins Publishers, Inc.
Show more Show less
Only $7.95 a month for the first 4 months of Audible Premium Plus