The Sugar Lacey Series

3 books in series
4.5 out of 5 stars 1,866 ratings

Sugar Publisher's Summary

Brought to you by Penguin. 

Young and confident, with a swagger in her step, Sugar arrives in the small Southern town of Bigelow with the hope of starting over. Soon Bigelow is alight with gossip and suspicion, and Sugar fears she can't hide from her past. Until, that is, she meets Pearl, her next door neighbour. Over sweet-potato pie, an unlikely friendship begins, transforming both women's lives - and the life of an entire town.

Vividly bringing 1950s deep American South to life, with its flowering magnolia trees, lingering scents of jasmine and honeysuckle and white picket fences that keep strangers out - but ignorance and superstition in, Sugar takes us on a journey through loss and suffering to a place of forgiveness, understanding and grace.

©2021 Bernice McFadden (P)2021 Penguin Audio
Show more Show less