The Lumatere Chronicles

6 books in series
4.5 out of 5 stars 480 ratings

Finnikin of the Rock Publisher's Summary

An epic fantasy of feudal intrigue, ancient magic, bloodshed and exile, and two opposing lovers destined to unite....

At the age of nine, Finnikin is warned by the gods that he must sacrifice a pound of flesh in order to save the royal house of his homeland, Lumatere. And so he stands on the rock of three wonders with his childhood friend Prince Balthazar and the prince's cousin, Lucian, and together they mix their blood.

Lumatere is safe, until the "five days of the unspeakable", when the king and queen and their children are slaughtered in the palace, and an imposter king takes the throne. A curse is put on Lumatere, which traps those caught inside and forces thousands of others to roam the land as exiles, dying of fever and persecution in foreign camps.

But 10 years later, Finnikin is led to another rock to meet the young novice, Evanjalin - a girl plagued by dark dreams, who holds the key to their return to the land of light.

©2008 Melina Marchetta (P)2008 Bolinda Publishing
Show more Show less
You're getting a free audiobook.

You're getting a free audiobook.

$14.95 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.