The New Adventures of Sherlock Holmes (Black Eye Entertainment)

3 books in series
5 out of 5 stars 14 ratings

The New Adventures of Sherlock Holmes, Vol. 2 Publisher's Summary

This collection contains 12 amazing detective adventures of Sherlock Holmes, starring Basil Rathbone and Nigel Bruce.

Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's detective genius, Sherlock Holmes, first came to NBC radio in 1930, starring Richard Gordon. By 1939, Basil Rathbone took over as Holmes, with Nigel Bruce as Dr. Watson. The duo were simultaneously starring in a very popular series of Sherlock Holmes' movies for the Fox and Universal studios. By the end of that feature run in the mid 1940s, Rathbone was eager to separate himself from the radio show to avoid being typecast, and even though the show's sponsor, Petri Wines, offered him generous pay to continue, he decided to move on. Tom Conway took over as Holmes, with Nigel Bruce continuing as Watson and getting top billing, followed by other actors as the series continued.

Included here are the following episodes that aired in 1946: "The Strange Case of the Murder in Wax", "Murder Beyond the Mountains", "The Telltale Pigeon Feathers", "The Case of Sweeney Todd, the Demon Barber", "The Camberwell Poisoner", "The Submarine Caves", "The Adventure of the Blarney Stone", "The April Fool's Day Adventure", "The Disappearing Scientists", "The Tankerville Club", "The Waltz of Death", and "The Man with the Twisted Lip".

©2016 Hollywood 360 (P)2016 Black Eye Entertainment
Show more Show less
You're getting a free audiobook.

You're getting a free audiobook.

$14.95 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.