Wheel of Time

17 books in series
4.5 out of 5 stars 395,627 ratings


Taking place in both our past and our future, this epic fantasy traces the saga of a young man destined to face the Evil One—and tells the story of an entire world’s struggle with war and change, destruction and hope.

Spanning multiple eras and generations, the Wheel of Time focuses on the final confrontation between a great hero known as the Dragon and an evil entity known as the Dark One. Battles between the Dragon and the Dark One are part of a cycle that’s been repeated countless times, age after age, as the Dragon is continuously reborn. In the Third Age, the Age of Prophecy in which the novels take place, they are preordained to face off in the Last Battle to determine the fate of the world. Enter Rand al’Thor. A humble farmer’s son, he lives a quiet life—until a pair of mysterious travelers arrive in his small village. Soon, he’ll discover his ability to wield magical powers long forbidden to men, throwing his life and lives all around him into turmoil. Over the course of the series, Rand al’Thor will embark on a great hunt for the legendary Horn of Valere; brave savage attacks by Trollocs, towering half-men, half-beasts; confront unspeakable dangers waiting in the shadows and in the light; and embrace his destiny as the Dragon Reborn. “Complex plotting, an array of strong characters, lavish detail, and a panoramic scope make this series a feast for fantasy aficionados," declares Library Journal. The New York Times proclaims: "Jordan has come to dominate the world that Tolkien began to reveal,".

Kate Reading and Michael Kramer are a power couple when it comes to audiobook narration, with more than 30 years of experience and hundreds of titles to their credit. Wife and husband, the Audie Award-winning narrators are well matched in revealing the thoughts, feelings, and motivations of the myriad characters in The Wheel of Time. Their different styles complement one another, and two voices add energy to the action. As an AudioFile reviewer notes: "These veteran narrators keep the plot moving and the narration fresh.“

Robert Jordan taught himself to read when he was four (with the incidental aid of a 12-years-older brother) and was tackling Mark Twain and Jules Verne by five. He is a graduate of The Citadel, the Military College of South Carolina, with a degree in physics, and a decorated US Army veteran of the Vietnam War. He began writing fiction in 1977; in 1990, he marked the publication of The Eye of the World, the first volume in The Wheel of Time, one of the most ambitious and best-selling series in the history of fantasy publishing. Following Jordan’s death in 2007, after a courageous battle with a rare blood disease, his masterwork was completed by Brandon Sanderson, a New York Times best-selling author of fantasy, science fiction, and thrillers best known for his Stormlight Archive series.

Show more Show less
You're getting a free audiobook.

You're getting a free audiobook.

$14.95 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.